Customer Reviews from 2014

Reviews and Testimonials from 2014

At Solar Entertainments we are very proud that a great deal of our work comes via recommendation from previous customers.

Below are genuine customer reviews and testimonials. Thank you to every one of our customers who have taken the time to comment on our services. We appreciate it greatly!

Please click headings below to read each review


31st December 2014 No 28 Market Place, Belper

New Year's Eve Party DIY Karaoke

A big thank you to Dave for his outstanding service and excellent karaoke system. He was always prompt and helpful with any emails and queries and arrived early for delivery even in the icy conditions!!!! The equipment was brilliant with a good selection of songs and excellent sound quality, our NYE party was a real success, we will definitely use again and would recommend without a doubt, thanks again and happy new year.

Nicola Brown

9th November 2014 Bloo 88, Sheffield

Singer's Society Karaoke & Disco

9th November 2014 Bloo 88, Sheffield

I am a social secretary for a society at a university, and we host events throughout the year. We have been using Solar Entertainments for about a year I believe, (my predecessor used them, and highly recommended them to me) and every time we have used them, they have been brilliant.

The latest event was a cabaret style event where we had a few performances followed by karaoke for the rest of the night. We ordered a full karaoke experience complete with a DJ and all the equipment. Dave, who was doing all the DJ-ing and setting up etc, was fantastic - he was very reliable in the run up to the event as well as on the night, and he was very adjustable to our needs for the show. He not only allowed us to use his PA system and microphones etc for our performances, but then provided a brilliant karaoke experience in which I didn't have to worry about anything, and could enjoy the night myself even though I was the organiser! He brought all of his own equipment and set it all up so quickly that he could actually start the event early. Not only this, but he went over and above the requirements in every way, including finishing the event slightly later than expected to get through all the karaoke requests!

I have given Solar Entertainments 5 out of 5 for everything, and that is because I honestly don't think anything could have been better. I will definitely be using them again, and I would recommend them to anyone and everyone.

Lucy Draper

1st November 2014 Bar Santiago, Leeds

Birthday Party DIY Karaoke Hire

I hired a karaoke machine for my 30th birthday through solar entertainment. Having only been to karaoke clubs before I wasn't sure what to expect from a hired machine. I have given this five stars overall as not only was Dave easy and straight forward to deal with in the run up to the event, he was also really helpful and friendly when setting up the machine. The machine itself was really simple to use and had all the songs we wanted to sing. The equipment was of a high standard and was perfect for the room size.

Incredibly good value, especially when you consider how much it costs to go to a karaoke club for a couple of hours. Additionally, I hired the equipment on Saturday, and received a notification on Monday that my deposit had been refunded. Overall a brilliant service provided by a friendly and helpful man. Will definitely be recommending to friends and family.

Stephanie Cook

11th October 2014 Fellows Morton and Clayton

40th Birthday Disco & Karaoke

11th October 2014 Fellows Morton and Clayton

Excellent night which was very well received by all who attended. Dave (the DJ) mixed the karaoke with the disco very well. He set up in plenty of time and didn't hurry us out. Would recommend to all for a great fun party night.

Catherine Moore

27th September 2014 White Hart, Duffield

40th Birthday Disco & Karaoke

27th September 2014 White Hart, Duffield

I chose solar entertainments to provide the music / entertainment for my 40th birthday on 27th Sept 2014 and was extremely pleased with the outcome. Dave delivered on all my expectations from the initial enquiry through to the one to one chat about the break down in music I required . He arrived well in advance of the party starting and had set up his professional sound rig which provided good sound quality and was ready to go. Throughout the night he helped with not only the karaoke and song requests from guests but also did a great job compering. I would highly recommend Dave as he was not only a very professional and personable individual, but went the extra miles to make sure it was a successful evening. Thanks again for a great night.

Tim & Ginny

13th September 2014 Billy's Bothy, Ashbourne

Hen Party DIY Karaoke Hire

13th September 2014 Billy's Bothy, Ashbourne

I hired the karaoke equipment from Solar Entertainments for a hen do to be used in a cottage in the Peaks. The whole service was fantastic. Communication before the event was prompt and friendly and Dave went out of his way to answer my many questions! As this was a surprise for the hen herself we had a limited time window to get all the equipment in and learn how to use it before she returned. Dave arrived in good time, set up everything whilst we decorated the room and even suggested which lighting would be best for our room and where best positioned. He ran through operation of the system which despite me being a technophobe was very easy indeed! The music selection was excellent (most importantly) and the karaoke went down a storm. Having done my research before I found Solar Entertainments to be the best value for money since it had by far the biggest song selection, it is digital meaning no CDs AND the huge benefit of being delivered, picked up and set up, all at the same price as some other companies requiring you to pick up machinery yourself. Finally, the service was brilliant! We were even given a contact for the night should anything go wrong with operation or should we forget how to use the equipment! Dave really was the best!

Thank you Solar Entertainments!

Johanne Wilks

13th September 2014 Hellaby Hall Hotel, Rotherham

Wedding Disco

Solar Entertainments were amazing at our wedding, so easy to contact. Fab music, never seen as many people on the dance floor at a wedding. Would defo recommend to anyone that wants an amazing wedding disco.

Lisa

30th August 2014 Crewe & Harpur, Longnor

Family Party DIY Karaoke Hire

We hired karaoke and sound equipment from Solar Entertainments for a family party. The service was excellent, the equipment was delivered and collected at a pre-agreed time and the equipment and materials supplied were of a very high standard. All 25 people in our group were very impressed with the equipment, service and value for money.

Maureen Lindberg

16th August 2014 Private Property, Northwich

50th Birthday DIY Karaoke Hire

Excellent service from Dave. Came and set the karaoke machine up and gave us clear instructions on how to use it. Brilliant song choice. Delivered and collected the equipment at the agreed times. Fantastic equipment and easy to use. Will definitely use again :-)

Sarah Gray

1st August 2014 Whirlowbrook Hall, Sheffield

Wedding Disco

Solar Entertainment was brilliant at our wedding reception! We kept in contact before the event and they accommodated all of our requests. Guests were also requesting songs and they were all played at some point too. The set up looked great and exceeded my expectations, we'll definitely book again for our anniversary party next year.

Zara Manyou

18th July 2014 HSBC Sports Club, Sheffield

30th Birthday Disco & Karaoke

Such a professional service. Great communication from the company answering all my queries promptly and meeting all my needs and requests. Have already recommended to others and will definitely use in the future. Thank you for helping me have a great night!

Kathryn Ferris

14th June 2014 Broad Meadow Farm, Bolton

50th Birthday Disco & Karaoke supporting Fake That

50th birthday disco and karaoke Broad Meadow Farm supporting Fake That June 2014Dave supplied the disco and karaoke entertainment for my 50th birthday party he was totally professional from start to finish and exceeded our expectations helping to deliver a fantastic day and evening of entertainment. Many thanks!

Angela Wilson

7th June 2014 The Wig & Pen

Hen Party DIY Karaoke Equipment Hire

7th June 2014 The Wig & Pen, Sheffield

Really punctual (actually got there before we did.. Ooops!) We did the DIY kareoke and it was really easy to use the equipment and meant we could be really flexible. There was a huge varierty of songs for all the age groups that were at our party. Great value. Thanks so much!!

Aanchel Bhandari

9th May 2014 Dove Valley Centre

Hen Party DIY Karaoke Equipment Hire

9th May 2014 Dove Valley Centre, Buxton

We hired a karaoke machine for a hen weekend and it really did make the whole weekend even more memorable! Dave was great, setting up the equipment and showing us how to use it as well as collecting it at the end of the weekend leaving us stress free! I would highly recommend Solar Entertainments as they are professional and flexible and provide an excellent service. Thank you.

Amanda Elikowski

26th April 2014 Southfields, Clowne

18th Birthday DIY Karaoke Hire

Fantastic service, Came at the time they said they would, all equipment was set up and demonstrated how to work. Thank you for making my Son’s 18th Birthday Party a night to remember. I will be booking the Karaoke again for my other Son’s 21st Birthday Party.

Lisa Milner

11th April 2014 Swancar Farm Country House

Wedding Disco & Karaoke + DJ

11th April 2014 Swancar Farm Country House, Nottingham

Wedding disco and karaoke Swancar Farm May 2014We hired Dave for our wedding and he was fantastic from start to finish. We had a karaoke and disco and he asked what songs we would like on his books ahead of the wedding date to save disappointment on the day. He played all the songs we wanted and avoided the ones we didn't. He also hosted a Mr and Mrs game for us which was well received by the wedding guests. Even provided the Theme tune! Absolutely fantastic night had by all. He even set all his equipment up the morning of the wedding so the party could start sooner in the evening. Loads of singing and dancing! Would highly recommend for any occasion!

Jenna Draper

5th April 2014 Cat's Cradle Cattery, Ashbourne

DIY Karaoke Equipment Hire

5th April 2014 Cat's Cradle Cattery, Ashbourne

From the setting up to collection the next day Dave was totally professional. The song choice was huge. My daughter and friends were still singing at 4am, it made the party and everybody joined in. Great value for money. Will be recommending to everybody, brilliant!!

Anne Peake

8th March 2014 Whitehaven Gardens, Manchester

40th birthday DIY karaoke hire

Dave made it so easy to book, brought the equipment to our house, set it all up, demonstrated it and was available if we needed help later. We didn't as the instruction booklet was easy to follow. A fantastic range of songs for the karaoke machine and the sound activating lights turned our living room into a disco! Thanks for making my wife's birthday party so easy to arrange!

Matt Hill

31st January 2014 Parish Hall, Kirk Sandall

14th Birthday Disco + DJ

Excellent service provided for my daughters' 14th Birthday Party. Professional service before and during event...excellent music and lighting..... Would certainly recommend.

Claire Burns

18th January 2014 Holy Trinity Centre, Newark

40th Birthday Disco + DJ

18th January 2014 Holy Trinity Centre, Newark

40th birthday disco at Holy Trinity Centre in Newark January 2014Dear Dave,

Just wanted to send you a quick note to say a MASSIVE thank you for the music for my birthday ‘do’ which was on Sat 18th Jan. It was all totally brilliant (even though my husband requested Chesney bloomin’ Hawkes!!!!!)

I had a fab time and all the gang that ended up dancing had a really good time too…..lots of texts and messages to say everyone had a ball…..so ‘THANK YOU’ and I shall certainly keep your details and recommend you to anyone in this area who needs a DJ.

All the best,
Hannah Guy

18th January 2014 Wingerworth Avenue, Sheffield

DIY Karaoke Machine Hire

Excellent company to deal with. Very easy from the point of enquiry through to collection of the equipment. Friendly and helpful. Equipment great quality and easy to use. Comes highly recommended. Thanks for making my 40th a really special event.

Amy Stoddard

4th January 2014 Trent Bridge Inn, Nottingham

40th Birthday Disco & Karaoke + DJ

4th January 2014 Trent Bridge Inn, Nottingham

We hired solar for my wife's 40th party, and were thoroughly impressed. Gave us exactly what we wanted, and everyone enjoyed the disco hugely.

I Scott

4th January 2014 Whitley Hall Cricket Club

Children's Karaoke & Disco + DJ

4th January 2014 Whitley Hall Cricket Club

Hired Dave for my daughters 10th birthday party and the kids had a ball. They all got up to sing and there just didn't seem to be enough time, could have gone on much longer. Would highly recommend Dave, lovely man, great set up, and very professional. Would deffinatlely use him again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to a friend.

Karen Clegg